Let’s talk about skincare

I know we’re all dealing with skin problems like acne, breakouts, whiteheads, blackheads and such stuff. Unfortunately, I’m a victim of having a sensitive and oily kind of skin. This is the reason why I loved discussing about skincare products.

Back story, it was in 3rd Year college when I had a sudden breakout. I had my skin cured by the dermatologist and it helped me lessen my breakout. But then, this January-February, I had a breakout again and I think it happened because of the drastic change in weather and that’s one of the reasons why I engage in noticing the changes in my skin and studied how I can cope up with it next time.

IMG_20170307_122609-01

This is me right now. *winks*  

My skin has different moods. Sometimes its calm, sometimes it’s so oily and when it’s that time of the month, I sometimes breakout. But most of the time, my skin reacts to how stressed I am and most of all to the drastic change in weather. I had an experience that I used a cleanser that’s deep clean and has a cooling after effects on my skin and because the weather is so damn cold, it leaved my skin dry. There I learned that I should shift my products to the weather conditions, I think these deep cleansers are perfect for the summer/humid season and for the cold season, I think it’s good to stick to mild/foaming cleansers that doesn’t dry out the skin. Also, I can’t stick to using one product only because when I’m having breakouts again, it’s so used to that certain product already (particularly in facial cleanser), it doesn’t have an effect to cure the breakouts anymore. Because of that I learned to use 3 different cleansers but not at everything at the same time. So for now, I’m going to share my “summer skin care essentials”. (I honestly love the weather right now, it’s just right.)

17270796_791570844327960_296615430_n

(L-R) Alba Botanica Even Advanced Deep Sea Facial Mask, Biore Deep Pore Charcoal Cleanser and Alba Botanica Even Advanced Sea Kelp Facial Toner.

17238440_791570764327968_465053201_n

Biore Deep Pore Charcoal Cleanser

Since it’s kinda summer already, I started using this Biore Deep Pore Charcoal Cleanser. What I loved about this product is how my skin reacts to it right now. The first time I used this, it was in January and the weather is so damn cold—it leaved my skin dry but now it’s different. I got this Biore Charcoal Cleanser from my Tita Karen. Sadly, its not available here in the Philippines (even in S&R). This cleanser claims to have charcoal as its main cleansing ingredient, charcoal (according to this product) has the ability to draw out impurities and trap them. It also claims to cleanse your skin 2x better than a basic cleanser and it leaves your skin tingly-smooth. It also says that it leaves your pores twice as clean after just one use.

On my personal experience, its true to its claims. It really does clean your skin and it helps me lessen the oiliness of my face. I also use this facial when I need to remove heavy make-up and it feels like I don’t have to use a make-up remover anymore because it clearly removed every bit of make-up on my face. This cleanser is like in a black, gel-form and with a minty smell. It feels good to use it even for an everyday use. This is my cleanser every morning and every night, but every night, before I use this, I use Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser first then this. Okay, I’m really a fan of deep cleansing.

So dear Biore, please bring this product here!!

17203695_791570857661292_1989168572_n

Alba Botanica Even Advanced Deep Sea Facial Mask

FACE MASK! Are you a fan of face masks? I love trying different face masks because they leave my skin feeling smooth and clean. But I haven’t tried face masks that are in cream form yet, that’s why I tried this Alba Botanica Even Advanced Deep Sea Facial Mask from Healthy Options for Php 369.00. It claims to equalizes pigmentation for an even complexion.

IMG_20170307_193410-01

The combination of these two is so wonderful!

In my experience, I tested this product for 3 days and guess what, on the 4th day, my mom told me that my skin is getting better. AND I THINK ITS BECAUSE OF THE COMBINATION OF BIORE DEEP PORE CHARCOAL CLEANSER AND ALBA BOTANICA EVEN ADVANCED DEEP SEA FACIAL MASK!!! I’m out of words for this product! It helped in diminishing the bumps and redness in my face. I AM SO IN LOVE WITH THIS!! This facial mask comes in soft and creamy form. It smells good too, but don’t be afraid! Apply a thin layer of it and let it sit on your face for 5 mins. And when you rinse it, your skin feels so good and amazingly, when I wake up, my skin is so soft and glowing. I love it! Some reviews recommend that it can be used daily but I am planning to just use it for 3x a week. Aah, I just love this product! I’m excited for what more I can get when I use this for a long time.

17203904_791570830994628_1792465760_n

Alba Botanica Even Advanced Sea Kelp Facial Toner

Next up, Alba Botanica Even Advanced Sea Kelp Toner. I discovered this one from Healthy Options. (Hey, I’m starting to love that store even if the products are kinda expensive lol) and got this for Php 279.00. At first, I was hesitant to buy this one because I’m not into toners, I’m already contented with my alcohol-free toners. But then because I said when my skin is used to certain products already, when I had a breakout or dull skin, it means that I need to change something in the products that I am using. Because of that I tried the Nivea Mattifying Toner that contains Ocean Algae and claims to lessen the oiliness of the skin. It did worked on my skin but then again, I had a breakout and it failed to work on my skin. I stopped using toners because of that. I don’t know why. But now, I decided to go back again and this caught my attention. (Also, the packaging caught me!!! It’s so simple yet attractive!!)

IMG_20170310_211347-01

Alba Botanica Even Advanced Facial Mask and Facial Toner

All Alba Botanica products claims to have to be an organic product so its perfect for sensitive skin. In short, perfect for my skin. So I hope they eventually will help me soothe the redness and at the same time balance out my skin because it claims to balance out the skin and its complexion as well.

So there are my skincare products. I know you haven’t seen a moisturizer and the reason behind that is because I’m still looking for a moisturizer that will fit my skin. I am tempted to use oil as an moisturizer but everytime I do that, I wake up with random breakouts. SO I tried Olay Natural White Cream and used that as my moisturizer.

I know some of you might say, “The products you’re using are so expensive!”. Yes, I know that. But I learned that if I wanted to achieve a good skin, I have to take care of it and invest in it. I know we should all spend our money, wisely and I believe that I am doing that. I am wisely spending my money on these because before purchasing them, I make sure that it will suit my skin. I remember before, I used to just buy whatever is advertised on the TV and it made my skin even worse. There I realized that before I purchase a product I need to know its ingredients first. Also, spending a hundred for a product that will last for months? It’s not bad. Trust me. Investing in skincare is one of the best investment that you can make—just make sure to invest in the right products.

I hope you learned and got some interest in those products that I shared.

Still looking forward for best results. But ofcourse, the best result will be achieved by having a healthy lifestyle. Keep that in mind, ladies! (and gents!)

Leave a Reply

